Our Faculty

Some of the EES faculty
Our department is fortunate to have an internationally renowned group of faculty members. Earth Science professors frequently receive top awards from their professional societies. Four professors have won the American Geophysical Union's Meinzer Award in hydrogeology, three professors have received the U.S. Antarctic Service Medal from the National Science Foundation, and one professor was recently awarded AGU's top award in hydrogeology. A complete list of faculty awards is here.

Our faculty also serve on editorial boards for scientific journals such as Antarctic Science, Precambrian Research, and Astrobiology Journal.

Research is important in our department, and eight professors have won the New Mexico Tech Distinguished Researcher award. Our professors bring in millions of dollars in research funding to New Mexico Tech every year for current and new projects.

Because our class sizes are very small, you will have plenty of opportunities to interact with these top scientists. For more information on our faculty, please see our faculty webpage.