Overview PDF Print E-mail

PetroFieldTripJemezNew Mexico Tech's Department of Earth and Environmental Science offers BS, MS, and PhD degrees in a broad range of earth sciences. The department incorporates five strongly interacting graduate programs -- Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, Hydrology, and Geobiology -- in association with an integrated undergraduate major in Earth Science featuring options in Environmental Geology, Geochemistry, Geology, Geophysics, and Hydrology. The department also administers a cross-department undergraduate degree in Environmental Science.


The department has 20 faculty members, of which six are in geophysics, four in hydrology, and ten in geology and geochemistry. In addition, the department has 30 affiliated research and adjunct faculty who are actively involved in research and/or teaching. Many of these are from the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources, which is located on campus, but they also come from industry, national laboratories, and other organizations. The IRIS PASSCAL Instrument Center and EarthScope USArray Array Operations Facility, two major NSF-funded seismological facilities, are also housed on campus and administered by faculty of the geophysics program.





The department maintains an average of 70 graduate and 65 undergraduate students and is strongly research-oriented. Major areas of research include (but are not restricted to):


Research is strongly interdisciplinary and there is extensive cooperative research between programs. Major research instrumentation and facilities include well-equipped research computing laboratories, 40Ar/39Ar, quadrupole, and stable isotope mass spectrometers, electron microprobe, high-pressure rock physics and rock mechanics laboratory, fission track and image analysis lab, neutron activation counting lab, liquid and gas chromatography lab, a flow visualization lab, local seismic networks, and a high-bay lab for intermediate-scale hydrology analog experiments.

Faculty research productivity is high, with external funding currently at about $7 million per year. Undergraduate as well as graduate students are involved in research activities.

Faculty are currently serving on the editorial boards of six major journals. Nine members of the department are fellows of professional societies. Three faculty members have both served as distinguished lecturers for their professional society and received major research awards. Eight have received the Distinguished Research Award and one the Distinguished Teaching Award from the Institute.

Earth-Science-Related Clubs at NMT

Created: ( Monday, 16 August 2010 08:22 )
Last Updated: ( Thursday, 10 September 2015 13:40 )
  Our Essay Help Service